So after leaving Mt Field we made our way 30min down the road to New Norfolk for a couple of nights. Nice litle caravan park right next to the Derwent River. We were still feeling pretty ordinary so we just chilled out. We went for a drive up to Pulpit Rock Lookout which gives a great view of the river.
There have been four bridges across the river at New Norfolk over the last 200 years. This photo shows the remains of the first three that where built next to each other.
Went to the Bush Inn for dinner. The pub was built in 1848 & has a great view of the river from the deck.
A couple of old buildings that caught our eye. The Old Colony Inn was originally a cellar for storing hops & is now a B&B. Woodbridge was built in 1825 & up until 2003 was a dilapidated & run down. It has been restored & is now an upmarket hotel.
We then headed down to spend a few nights at a littlelow cost camp at Franklin which is on the Huon River.
Spent some time in a lovely little Cidery called Franks. Great food & cider.
Franklin was once the main town on the Huon before the road from Hobart was completed. Before the road everything went on boats up & down the river.
Ulrika has eaten her weight in cherries since we got to Tassie. Luckily the season finishes at end of January.
A drive down to Geeveston to have a look at the carved figures of local well known people. Ulrika was keen on the Wall of Lollies.
We then moved up to Huonville Caravan Park. Finally got to Fat Pig Farm for a long lunch. We were booked 3 years ago but got chased out by bushfires. A great afternoon eating & making new friends. The food was wonderful. Matt & Sadie certainly know how to look after you.
Found time to have a quiet lunch at Home Hill Winery.
Heading up to Penguin tomorrow to start our Farm sit.