So we started our trip to Adelaide along the Great Ocean Road at Geelong. As normal we are aiming to see all the Lighthouses on the way.
The first of these is at Point Lonsdale. It looks over the entrance of Port Phillip Bay which is one of the most notorious bay entrances in the world. It is one of the few lighthouses still manned 24 hours a day. There has been a lighthouse at this spot since 1852, the current lighthouse was built in 1902.
Just down the road at Queenscliff there are two lighthouses that help ships guide the way into Port Phillip Bay. They are known as the Black & White Lighthouse. They were both built in 1862 from the same Blackstone (the White being painted). Fort Queenscliff was built around the light after fears that ships carrying gold from the gold rush may be attacked by privateers.
The Railway line to Queenscliff was closed in 1976. A 16km section is now owned by the Bellarine Preservation Society. They have a number of steam trains that run on the line as well as the Q Train which runs a dining experience twice a week. The carriages for this are from the old QLD Sunlander. Unfortunately we were there on a non working day so we have an excuse to come back. The Garratt G33 is under restoration.
Queenscliff has some wonderful old buildings.
It was also great to catch up with one of my old work mates who lives in Geelong- Mr. Darren McCallum.
Next stop Aireys Inlet & Split Point Lighthouse. A great view from the top on a beautiful sunny day. It was built in 1891 & is 34m high.
On the way we dropped into Bells Beach to check out the surf. Not much happening so I didn’t get the Kayak out.
The Great Ocean Road Arch is a memorial to Victorians who served in WW1. In 1919 a trust was set up to build the road & provide work for returned serviceman. Over 3000 ex service men worked with picks & shovels until it was finally finished in 1932.
Lunch at the Seafood Pier Restaurant at Lorne.
The Grand Pacific Hotel is just around the corner. It was built in 1875.
Erskine Falls in the hinterland behind Lorne.
On the way out of Lorne is this iconic pole house.
Next stop Bimbi Park which is only 5 km from Cape Otway Lighthouse. The light was first lit in 1848. The Lighthouse was the oldest operational lighthouse with unbroken service on the mainland Australian coast until it was decommissioned in January 1994. It has been replaced by a low powered solar light in front of the original tower. The light was extremely isolated. Supplies were delivered every 6-12 months, landed at Parker River and brought overland. The only contact was with the few farmers in the area and rare official visits.
Apollo Bay was named in 1845 after a ship of the same name sheltered here in a storm. It was originally established by timber cutters & then farmers. Today it is a tourist destination & crayfishery.
Sculptures along the foreshore of Apollo Bay.
The Fish Market & marina at Apollo Bay.
A couple of pubs & one that brew their own.
As it is Victoria today started out cold & wet & by the end of the day it was warm & nearly clear. First stop the Twelve Apostles. A tad wet.
Loch Ard Gorge & the Razorback. The Gorge is named after a ship that was wrecked on Mutton Bird Island (the one with the arch) in 1878. Of 54 crew & passengers only two survived.
A model of the Loch Ard. There were very few goods recovered from the wreck. One of these was this intact porcelain peacock & this gold watch. It was also carrying many lead ingots.
London Bridge Arch or whats left of it after the bridge fell in 1990.
Bay of Islands is spectacular.
Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village at Warrnambool depicts a typical seaport in the late 19th century.
Inside the Martime Village & on top of Flagstaff Hill are the Lady Bay Upper & Lower Lighthouses. They are used to guide ships into Lady Bay. The top tower was originally built in 1859 on Middle Island. In 1872 it was moved stone by stone to its current position. The bottom tower was built in 1854 as an obelisk. A light was added in 1872.
As a bonus we got to meet Eudy & Tula. They are Maremma dogs that help guard the penguins on Middle Island as seen in the movie Oddball.
Lunch at Pippies by the Bay.
Last stop on Great Ocean Road is Port Fairy. Pretty little town.
The Griffith Island Lighthouse at Port Fairy was built in 1859. Port Fairy, up until the 1980’s, had one of Australia’s largest fishing fleets. It was also a significant whaling port.
Quote of the Day
“One of the reasons people hate politics is that truth is rarely a politician’s objective. Election and power are.”