Coles Bay on the edge of beautiful Freycinet National Park (named after Louis de Freycinet, a French explorer) was our next stop. Stayed at the Coles Bay Golf Club as this was the only place that would allow dogs (or in our case furbaby).
Coles Bay with the Hazards in the backgound. The Hazard Mountain Range were named after a local Negro Whaler Captain Richard Hazard.
Plenty to see so we went to Cape Tourville Lighthouse. It was constructed in 1971 & has magnificent views of the coastline & Tasman Sea.
It replaced a lighthouse that was built on Lemon Rock in 1917. Lemon Rock is the little island in mid picture. It was one of the most dangerous lights to access. Just down the road is Little Gravelly Beach. You can see from the size of the sand where it gots its name from.
Lunch at Freycinet Marine Farm. Oysters three ways! Lots of Chinese tourists at this place. For some reason they have invaded Tassie & are everywhere. You have to watch them on the road as they tend to drive down the middle & not give you any room. We saw one accident today.
Boat cruise out to Wineglass Bay. OK in Coles Bay but bit lumpy on the seaward side. Very proud of Ulrika as she did not get seasick at all & in fact found time to have lunch washed down with a dozen oysters.
The majority of the Hazards is Pink Granite. In 1941 the Quarry was leased by 2 brothers from Italy, Mario and Biagio Zanchetta, and began operation in 1943. In the beginning, the rock was extracted using hand drills, wooden pegs and water. They would drill a depression in to the rock, fill it up with water then drive in a wooden peg, as the wood absorbed the water, it would expand and break the face of the rock away.
We went for a hike up to the lookout overlooking Wineglass Bay. Urban legend is that it got its name because of the shape of the bay. Reality is that there were two whaling stations inside the bay in the 1800’s & when they were cutting up the whales the water in the bay turned the colour of claret, hence Wineglass Bay.
Sunset over Great Oyster Bay.
Next stop Swansea & Kates Berry Farm. Not too many berries but plenty of jams, ice cream, etc.
Dinner? Oysters again!
A sample of some of the old buildings in Swansea.
The Swansea Inn was built in 1841 by William Champion of Hobart, as a wedding gift for his daughter. From this point on the building has etched its place in the history of Swansea in both a tragic and a magnificent way. Several years after the daughter died and arrangements were made for a Mr. Large of Hobart to take on the inn and develop a brewery. In 1850, Mr. Large, his wife and six children aged from 2 – 12 years travelled from Hobart aboard the vessel named the Resolution. Laden with supplies and the makings of the Brewery, the family arrived in The Great Oyster Bay when then ship sunk. All six children drowned & the parents survived. It has been through a succession of owners & is now a B&B.
A day of vineyards as it was bit drizzly.
How about this name for a track. Its named after a band of local Riginals.
Not more oysters!
About 50km down the road is Triabunna. On the way we found the Spiky Bridge. It was built by convicts in c1843.
Triabunna is where the ferry to Maria Island leaves from. We are planning to ride our bikes around the island in the new year.
We happened to be there for the local Xmas parade. Catching up with the locals & community spirit.
Some of the old building in town.
Off to Seven Mile Beach (just north of Hobart) in the morning. Tris, Caity & kids are flying down for Xmas. Really looking forward to seeing them.
Quote of the Day
“He was a bold man that first ate an oyster.”